3rd May 2013
Kelmscott House, London.
William Morris leased Kelmscott House in April 1878. The house had originally been called The Retreat. Morris named Kelmscott House after Kelmscott Manor (his 17th century country house in Lechlede, Gloucestershire). Kelmscott House directly overlooks the river Thames, something which pleased Morris.
Morris began his experiments with weaving soon after moving in and set up a tapestry loom in his ground floor bedroom and carpet looms in the coach house.The small rugs and carpets produced at this time were called Hammersmith rugs and bear the woven device of a hammer in the border.
When, in 1881, Morris set up his new works at Merton Abbey he moved the carpet looms there.