1st April 2013
The Barley Hall, York, is a fascinating ancient building which dates from the 14th century and has only recently been rescued from neglect. It has been wonderfully restored to demonstrate how it would have looked at the time when it was a townhouse occupied by the Snawsell family in 1483.
The Barley Hall is situated near York Minster, in a yard off Stonegate, and is an area which through the centuries was associated with craftsmen such as embroiderers, goldsmiths and glass painters who supplied the Minster. The exhibits focus upon the world of independent medieval artisans and craftsmen that William Morris and his associates were trying to revive.
Side entrance of York Minster.